Do you want to hire an employee in Switzerland without a legal entity but need Swiss payroll? IPS can help you hire and pay employees in Switzerland in compliance with the law, even without a Swiss branch or permanent establishment.

There are 2 ways you can hire someone in Switzerland without a permanent establishment:

  1. Employer of Record (Switzerland) – this is where your employee is hired directly by us and lent to you full time. This is also known as employee leasing or staffing.
  2. Direct employment in your company but with payroll accounting according to Swiss law by registering your company as a foreign employer.

Both employment options have their advantages and disadvantages. Contact us to find out which one suits your project better. We will be happy to advise you and find the best solution for your company.

IPS is your global payroll solution for a successful and fast international expansion without a permanent establishment.

Remote Work Full Time from Switzerland – Information for Hiring Employees in Switzerland

To make sure you hit the ground running abroad, IPS is here as your international payroll partner to assist you in hiring your employees correctly in Switzerland and preparing Swiss payroll in accordance with the laws of the country. Below is some data to help you better understand the Swiss payroll system.

The social security system in Switzerland

In Switzerland, it is not the employer who is responsible for health insurance, but the employee. If you are an employee living in Switzerland, you must be insured according to local law (even if your employer is not in Switzerland). There is a compulsory basic social insurance in Switzerland. The amount varies depending on profession, age, marital status, etc.

If you do not have a branch in Switzerland, you will need a service like IPS’s to calculate and pay these social benefits correctly according to Swiss law. With IPS’s international payroll services in Switzerland, you ensure that your employee is accounted for in a compliant manner according to Swiss law.

Costs for the employer

In order to hire an employee in Switzerland, certain things need to be considered. In general, Switzerland is known as an expensive country, and this also affects wages. A relief for an employer may the slightly lower employer costs. The non-wage costs in relation to the gross salary in Switzerland amount to about 15% (depending on the pension fund). These low costs are due to the fact that health insurance in Switzerland is fully covered by the employee. This represents a large savings for the employer.

  • Old-age and survivors’ insurance:
    4,2%
  • Disability insurance:
    0,7%
  • Income replacement insurance:
    0,225%
  • Unemployment insurance:
    1,1%
  • Pension fund:
    Between 4.0% to 14.0% depending on the pension plan. This can be chosen freely.
  • Occupational accident insurance:
    0.77% on average, varies by industry, insurer and company risk.
  • Family allowances:
    0.3 to 3.63% depending on canton.

Employment law

  • When hiring through a Swiss employer of record agency, it must be noted that a working week in Switzerland, consists of 40 to 44 hours. Depending on the activity, a maximum working time of 45 to 50 hours applies. This varies depending on the industry. This would have to be clarified individually. Overtime must be compensated with a wage premium of at least 25%.
  • There are four national holidays in Switzerland. Other holidays depend on the canton.
  • There is a vacation entitlement of at least 20 working days per year.
  • Continued payment of wages due to illness varies greatly and depends on the duration of employment and the circumstances. However, a minimum of three weeks of continued pay applies.

As your international payroll provider in Switzerland, we will ensure that you are equipped with the necessary information.

Probationary period / Termination

The probationary period in Switzerland is a minimum of one and a maximum of three months.

The notice period depends on the duration of the employment relationship. In the first year, termination can be given with one month’s notice; after two to nine years, the notice period is two months. There is also the possibility of a termination agreement.

A severance payment is either stipulated in the employment contract or, if it has not been stipulated beforehand, it may be agreed upon in the termination agreement

As your international payroll company in Switzerland, we ensure that your employee is employed and payrolled correctly.

We can help. Quickly and without complications!

Just call
Tel. 02173 2039568
or send us an e-mail!

Wollen Sie einen Mitarbeiter in der Schweiz ohne Betriebsstätte einstellen und benötigen aber eine Schweizer Gehaltsabrechnung? IPS kann Ihnen helfen, Mitarbeiter gesetzeskonform in der Schweiz einzustellen und abzurechnen, auch ohne Schweizer Niederlassung oder Betriebsstätte.

Es bestehen 2 Möglichkeiten, wie Sie jemanden in der Schweiz ohne Betriebsstätte einstellen:

  1. Employer of Record (Schweiz) – hier wird Ihr Mitarbeiter direkt bei uns angestellt und Vollzeit an Sie verliehen. Dies ist auch als Arbeitnehmerüberlassung bekannt.
  2. Direkte Anstellung in Ihrem Unternehmen, aber mit Lohnabrechnung nach Schweizer Recht durch Anmeldung Ihres Unternehmens als ausländischer Arbeitgeber

Beide Anstellungsmöglichkeiten bieten ihre Vor- und Nachteile. Treten Sie mit uns in Kontakt, um herauszufinden, welche besser zu Ihrem Vorhaben passt. Wir beraten Sie gerne und finden die beste Lösung für Ihr Unternehmen.

IPS ist Ihre globale Gehaltsabrechnungslösung für eine erfolgreiche und schnelle internationale Expansion ohne Betriebsstätte.

Remote Work Vollzeit von der Schweiz aus – Informationen für die Anstellung von Mitarbeitern in der Schweiz

Um sicherzustellen, dass Sie auf Anhieb im Ausland Erfolg haben, ist IPS als Ihr Partner für internationale Gehaltsabrechnungen da, um Ihnen bei der korrekten Anstellung Ihrer Mitarbeiter in der Schweiz und der landeskonformen Erstellung der Schweizer Lohnabrechnung beiseitezustehen. Folgend einigen Daten, um Ihnen das Schweizer Lohnsystem näherzubringen.

Das Sozialversicherungssystem in der Schweiz

In der Schweiz ist nicht der Arbeitgeber für die Krankenversicherung zuständig, sondern der Arbeitnehmer. Wenn man als Arbeitnehmer in der Schweiz lebt, muss man nach lokalem Recht versichert sein (auch wenn der Arbeitgeber nicht in der Schweiz ist). Es besteht eine obligatorische Grundsozialversicherung in der Schweiz. Die Höhe variiert je nach Beruf, Alter, Familienstand etc.

Wenn Sie keine Niederlassung in der Schweiz haben, benötigen Sie einen Dienst wie der von IPS um diese Sozialleistungen korrekt nach schweizerischem Recht zu berechnen und zu bezahlen. Mit den internationalen Gehaltsabrechnungen in der Schweiz von IPS stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Mitarbeiter konform nach schweizerischem Gesetz abgerechnet wird.

Kosten für den Arbeitgeber

Um einen Mitarbeiter in der Schweiz einzustellen, müssen gewisse Dinge beachtet werden. Allgemein ist die Schweiz wohl als ein teures Land bekannt, und dies wirkt sich auch auf die Löhne aus. Als entlastend für einen Arbeitgeber wirken dann die, im Vergleich zu Deutschland, geringeren Lohnnebenkosten. Somit ist ein schweizer Angestellter, der über die ausländische Personaladministration eingestellt ist, nicht übermäßig viel teurer als sein in Deutschland befindliches Gegenstück. Die Lohnnebenkosten in Bezug auf das Bruttogehalt belaufen sich in der Schweiz auf ca. 15% (je nach Pensionskasse), während in Deutschland ein wesentlich höherer Satz von ca. 22% gilt. Diese geringen Kosten kommen zustande weil die Krankenversicherung in der Schweiz vollständig vom Arbeitnehmer übernommen wird. Dies stellt eine große Ersparnis für den Arbeitgeber dar.

  • Alters- und Hinterlassenenversicherung:
    4,2%
  • Invalidenversicherung:
    0,7%
  • Erwerbsersatzordnung:
    0,225%
  • Arbeitslosenversicherung:
    1,1%
  • Pensionskasse:
    zwischen 4,0 bis 14,0% je nach Vorsorgeeinrichtung. Diese ist frei wählbar.
  • Berufsunfallversicherung:
    durchschnittlich 0,77%, variiert je nach Branche, Versicherer und Betriebsrisiko.
  • Familienzulagen:
    0,3 bis 3,63% je nach Kanton

Arbeitsrecht

  • Bei der Einstellung über eine Zeitarbeitsfirma muss beachtet werden, dass eine Arbeitswoche in der Schweiz, aus 40 bis 44 Stunden besteht. Je nach Tätigkeit gilt eine Höchstarbeitszeit von 45 bis 50 Stunden. Dies variiert je nach Branche. Dies müsste individuell geklärt werden. Überstunden müssen mit einem Lohnaufschlag von mindestens 25 % vergütet werden.
  • In der Schweiz gibt es vier gesetzliche, nationale Feiertage. Weitere Feiertage sind Kantonsabhängig.
  • Es besteht ein Urlaubsanspruch von mindestens 20 Arbeitstagen pro Jahr.
  • Eine Lohnfortzahlung aufgrund von Krankheit variiert stark und hängt von der Dauer der Beschäftigung und den Umständen ab. Mindestens gilt jedoch eine Lohnfortzahlung von drei Wochen.

Als Ihr internationaler Lohnbuchhalter in der Schweiz sorgen wir dafür, dass Sie mit der notwendigen Information ausgestattet sind. 

Probezeit /Kündigung

  • Die Probezeit beträgt in der Schweiz mindestens ein und maximal drei Monate.
  • Die Frist einer ordentlichen Kündigung richtet sich nach der Dauer des Beschäftigungsverhältnisses. Im ersten Jahr kann mit einer Frist von einem Monat gekündigt werden, nach zwei bis neun Jahren beträgt die Frist zwei Monate. Es besteht auch die Möglichkeit eines Aufhebungsvertrags.
  • Eine Abfindung wird entweder im Arbeitsvertrag festgelegt oder, wenn sie vorher nicht festgelegt wurde, im Aufhebungsvertrag.

Als Ihr internationales Gehaltsabrechnungsunternehmen in der Schweiz stellen wir sicher, dass Ihr Mitarbeiter korrekt angestellt und abgerechnet wird.

Wir helfen. Schnell
und unkompliziert!

Einfach anrufen
Tel. 02173 2039568
oder E-Mail schreiben!